Opinions…and when to share them

Lately I’ve realised that I don’t really enjoy going out to lunch with my coworkers as much as I used to. Not that I don’t enjoy their company, they’re great coworkers, one of the best I’ve worked with. But I’ve noticed that people, much like celebrities, don’t really know when to shut their mouths. And this results in me getting frustrated and annoyed to the limit.

Whenever I am at a social gathering, be it a party, a lunch etc, I’ve noticed that some people are quite incapable of realising when NOT to share their opinions with regards to world events and the current breaking news that’s just being overly discussed and analyzed on TV, on the web, on social media etc. I don’t know about you, but whenever people start talking about news and politics while we’re out eating, I experience a combination of exasperation and annoyance, because, while in a bloody lunch break, I want to be able to RELAX AND UNWIND, not having the same damn news shoved down my throat instead of my food.

There was this post on 9gag a while back when someone posted a picture of disgusted and exasperated people looking at a camera with the caption “My friends’ faces when I try to bring up the latest breaking news at a party”. The original poster of that picture seemed proud of himself for being the party pooper. Of course, people in the comments section were against such behavior for precisely the main reasons people throw a party: to have fun, not to overly overanalyze and discuss things that you always hear and are almost inescapable.

Personally, I am sick of it. I am sick of all these people constantly trying to bring sh*t like this into discussion each and every time 3 or more people are in the same approximate area. I overheard one of my colleagues today say something like “well, we don’t know 10% of what exactly is going on”. So, you feel that there is more to every story, but you also feel the need to share a so called “informed” opinion on something you’ve read one article about and have about the same percentage of knowledge as the percentage of getting an SSR character on Dragon Ball Dokkan Battle? (believe me, getting an SSR on Dragon Ball Dokkan Battle is hard…and annoying) Please, can one of my less than 10 readers (much appreciated less than 10 readers, by the way) explain to me the logic behind this? Why do people feel the need to always have an opinion on world events? Why can’t things just be?

Seriously, I label this blog as “Opinions and drivel for your enjoyment”. I know about opinions. Everyone has the RIGHT to an opinion, I’m not saying you don’t. I’m saying, try some OTHER moments or times to share them? Like, I dunno, the endless stream of social media platforms you waste time on? And no, this is not me advocating you to post endless political stuff online, this is me choosing the lesser of two evils. I can appreciate you putting it there, because then I can hide the post if I don’t care about it, a feat way harder to do when I am out to lunch with you and several other people, since I can’t put a first-aid band on your mouth without getting at least a few frowns from said meal companions.

Leave a Reply

