Top 10 Dragon Ball songs

I’ve never considered myself an anime fan, but I am a Dragon Ball fan. Probably not to the extent of others that I regularly watch on Youtube, but having seen all the series, movies (yes, that includes Dragonball Evolution) and being up to date on Dragon Ball Super, I can safely say I’m pretty invested in it.

And being accustomed to the English dub more than the Japanese version, I kind of like the Bruce Faulconer OST more than others. That’s not to say the Japanese BGM doesn’t have some pretty awesome songs though.

In this post, I thought I’d go through my personal Top 10 Dragon Ball songs, from all the soundtracks. Keep in mind that this is my opinion, and it’s ok to have a different one. Just don’t be a total idiot about it. Now, let’s begin:

10. Super Saiyan 3 theme (Bruce Faulconer)

Each and every time I hear this theme, I can still hear Goku screaming “And THIS…is to go even further BEYOND!”. It’s a very cool song which accompanies a pretty awesome, albeit useless, transformation. It was also interesting that this song and the Gotenks fusion song seem to have similar melody lines.

9. Dan Dan Kokoro Hikareteku (Field of View)

No matter your opinion about GT, we can agree that it did two things right: the ending and this song as the intro song. I love it because it is a really upbeat and happy song, which manages (as I’ve heard others say) to catch the very essence of Dragon Ball, a story about a young kid who goes on an adventure and is never the same again after it. And the best part is we are all part of his adventures.

8. Super Buu Theme (Bruce Faulconer)

I was never really a fan of Fat Buu. But when he transformed into Super Buu and went straight to the lookout, all the while having this song as his background music, he went from a meh villain to a “holy crap, this guy means business” villain. This form along with the Kid Buu form are my favorite Majin Buu forms, simply because of their pure evil attitude. They had no remorse and no mercy.

7. Vegeta Goes Super Saiyan (Bruce Faulconer)

Ah, who can forget the epic piano beginning of this song. That moment in the Androids Saga when Veggie finally reclaimed his throne (for about 5 episodes until 17 and 18 come out, but hey…a throne is a throne). I love how this theme kind of depicts Vegeta’s rage when becoming a Super Saiyan. The madness of those piano notes is actually pretty memorable.

6. Solid State Scouter (Fuminori Iwazaki and the Dragon Magic Orchestra)

One of my favorites from the oldies part of DBZ, this is Bardock’s song, used in the Bardock: Father of Goku movie. I love its upbeat tempo and I like mostly because it kind of manages to depict Bardock’s character pretty well, his survival attitude and such. The only gripe I have with it is that it is a bit too long.

5. Beerus Madness Theme (Norihito Sumitomo)

If there was ever a way to remind your audience that Beerus, for all his antics, is the God of Destruction and is not to be messed with, THIS song is the perfect way to do it. The moment when he killed Zamasu is one of my favorite moments from Dragon Ball Super, and it’s largely due to this particular song.

4. Pikkon’s Theme

Pikkon is one of those characters people wish was cannon, mostly because of the strength he displayed in the Other World Tournament in DBZ. And this theme was one of my instant favorites, mostly because it gives you a surge of adrenaline every time it’s used during a fight.

3. Ginyu Transformation Theme (Bruce Faulconer)

One thing is for sure with the English dub. Whenever this song came on, you knew something BIG was up. Be it a planet getting blown up, Goku losing his body, someone getting destroyed…the sheer destruction vibe of this song makes it one of the best and most memorable songs of the entire English dub.

2. Super Saiyan Blue theme (Norihito Sumitomo)

This freaking song…holy crap, if there was ever a song fit for the idea of a God in a TV show, this is it. And the way it was used in episode 63, when Vegeta was punching SSR Black around…epic stuff. The writer of this theme has done quite possibly one of the greatest jobs ever with regards to the DB soundtrack

1. Vegeta’s Theme (Bruce Faulconer)

Vegeta is my favorite character and this one is possibly the most subjective pick of this list, but I can’t help it. Whenever I watch Vegeta clips and this song is on the background, I become a kid again. Also, I think it captures Vegeta’s character in the earlier seasons and in his Majin phase pretty well.

So there is it, my top 10 favorite songs from the DB soundtrack.

One thought on “Top 10 Dragon Ball songs

  1. This design is wicked! You definitely know how to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

    Like

Leave a Reply

