Christmas traditions hate

Ah, Christmas. That time of the year when you already know it’s December, so you truly feel like on a 31 day long Friday. A chance for radio stations to air some overplayed Christmas songs from Wham!, Mariah Carey…and more recently Queen, which as you may suspect are the only ones I truly enjoy.

It’s also the time of the year when edgy people want to make sure you know how much Christmas has been ruined by…I dunno, probably corporations and how much they hate all this hype and how it’s annoying that preparations for this holiday seem to be starting earlier and earlier (this one at least is true, one mall from around here had a “Christmas in July” campaign last year…not sure if they also had it this year).

And though I am a bit annoyed that I have to go out and get gifts for the 87 billion people I have to meet up with in the space of 2 weeks, I am more annoyed by these people that complain. Mostly because I hate downers. If you don’t like this time of the year for various reasons, I can respect your opinion, but don’t go around shoving it down other people’s throats, because it makes you look like an asshole…and at times, it’s best that people learn this on their own, with no aid. You ain’t doing yourself any favours there.

Seriously, I see it every year in Facebook statuses, attitudes, small talk etc. People just can’t shut the fudge up. And, much like political talks (which I will talk about one day about how much they annoy me), they’re so annoying, and they kill the mood for everyone. If you don’t like it, that’s fine, but don’t force others to listen to your endless ramblings. You have blogs for that.

I for one enjoy this time of the year. If nothing else, it’s the holiday atmosphere that gets me, a time to break away from all the hustles of everyday life and a chance to find some inner peace and serenity in the few days that you usually have as holiday this time of year. I’ve always had a big amount of hate for sucky managers who force their people to work during the holiday periods. I am not talking about doctors or such, I am talking about any and all shops and retail employers. But then again, that is probably caused by the massive amounts of people who simply cannot help themselves and have to buy anything, even if they don’t need it.

One thought on “Christmas traditions hate

Leave a Reply

